EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW & NEW MUSIC VIDEO: TERELL SAFADI

Interview by: Ashlee Chanelle

terell

As you know, UNDRGRND NATION is all about exposing you to upcoming, innovative artists. Hailing from Canada, Terell Safadi is making quite a name for himself. Having toured six different countries and shared the stage with artists like, the legendary Bone Thugs ‘N Harmony, he is showing no signs of slowing down. Check out our exclusive interview with this rising artists.

_______

UNDRGND NATION: For our UNDRGRND NATION followers who may not know, just who is Terell Safadi?

TERELL SAFADI: Terell Safadi is a lot of things. A passionate life liver, a father, a big brother, dream chaser, entrepreneur, skateboarder, and last but not least, a recording artist.

UNDRGRND NATION: Your music isn’t typical hip-hop. You incorporate many genres and elements into your sound. Can you tell us a little more about that and what some of your influences are?

TERELL SAFADI: Lately, I’ve been influenced by a lot of different indie bands and house music. I love the up-beat vibes and pitched down vocals, and the time that goes into the production. Sometimes in hip-hop nowadays, everything is the same and very monotonous, so I pull from different genres for influence. I like more than just rap and hip-hop, so I like my music to reflect that, while still staying true to the culture of hip-hop. I’m also into old-school soul and R&B like the Isley Brothers, and I’m huge fan of Bay Area and California artists, which is what I came up listening too.

UN: You rep Vancouver, Canada and have generated quite a buzz for yourself there and here in the States. That being said, what sets you apart from all other artists coming out of Canada, such as more mainstream artists like Drake or The Weeknd (who weren’t always so mainstream, by the way)?

TS: Like I mentioned before, I pull from a lot of different genres, and I think that makes for a broader catalogue of beats you hear me rap on. I’d also have to say the number one thing that sets us apart would be our life experiences. I think our music is very truthful and based on real people and happenings. If I have lived it or am going though it, it’s in a song, or it will be at some point. My music is very truthful, and when I put it out there I’m hoping someone will relate, which a lot of my listeners do. In turn, it helps me keep being honest because I know people are going through similar things.

UN: You’ve had the pleasure of taking the stage with legendary artists like Bone Thugs ’N Harmony and Redman, and you have also performed alongside more recent come ups like Rick Ross, Kirko Bangz, and LMFAO. What was that experience like?

TS: That experience was amazing and surreal at times.  Getting to meet these artists and be seen in the same light is a blessing and very motivating to keep me striving for more. LMFAO caught my set and actually gave me props, which was dope. I had finished my set, turned around and they were just right there waiting to go on. I don’t think I would have played as good if I knew they were there the whole time.

UN: You recently dropped your track “Rumors” which is getting a lot of buzz and are currently working on your fourth album. What can fans expect on the next release?

TS: The project is titled “When I Get To L.A.” which is inspired by this most recent four months I’ve been out here in L.A. from Vancouver.  I’ve never been away from my family and friends for this long, and everything is new to me, so it’s me putting my new experiences into songs on fresh, new beats from producers in L.A. and producers back home. It’s just like a little documentary of my time I’ve been spending in my new surroundings. It will be here just in time for summer and the project has a summer feel to it as well!

UN: Where can fans stay in touch with Terell Safadi?

TS: Pretty much on all social media platforms, so choose your favorite one and get at me! I’m @TerellSafadi on everything – Facebook, Twitter – but I’m most active on Instagram. Shout out UNDRGRND NATION for the love! Bless up!

_MG_1567

_________

Check out Terell Safadi’s new video for his track “Rumors” here:

Leave a Reply

